Waukee Activities Blog

Waukee Mock Trial Team Qualifies for State Tournament

A team of ten Waukee High School students recently advanced to the Iowa State High School Mock Trial tournament to be held in Des Moines March 26-28th.  These team members have been working together and preparing since November and portrayed the roles of attorneys and witnesses as they presented a court case in competition against other local schools.  Mock Trial provides students an opportunity to learn about courtroom procedure and the law, as well as practicing writing, critical thinking, public speaking, and teamwork skills.
This year Waukee had over 80 students on 9 Mock Trial teams competing between grades 8-12.  Teams were from Prairieview, Timberline, and Waukee High School and were coached by Luke Peterson at Timberline and Ben Hicks at Prairieview and the High School.
The members of the High School team that qualified for state are (left to right in picture: front row: Elizabeth Messman, Grace Hilscher, Caitlin Conklin, Peyton Soethout, back row: Claire Brown, Samantha Stewart, Shalini Birari, Kathryn Shumaker, Bhavanna Sirimalle, Gautham Ajith)